Clinton Community College holds induction ceremony for 52 Phi Theta Kappa members

The Clinton Area Chamber of Commerce recently held an induction ceremony for 52 members of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at Clinton Community College (CCC).

Phi Theta Kappa invited students who had achieved a 3.5 grade-point average and earned at least 12 credit hours. Fifty-two students accepted the honor and were inducted into CCC's Alpha Theta Beta chapter.

Karen J. Vickers, CCC's president, was the keynote speaker. She shared moments from her life and the 70-year history of the community college.

During the event, CCC students Kimberlee McMichael and Bailee Shepherd were honored as All-Iowa Academic Team members. Phi Theta Kappa advisors Gina Bielski, Jane Marlowe and Shirley Turnis received the Horizon Advisor Award. The three advisors had worked during the past four years to revive the CCC chapter.

With more than 1,285 chapters around the world, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the largest honor society on U.S. two-year and community college campuses. It was founded in 1918 and inducts approximately 131,000 students each year.

Want to get notified whenever we write about Clinton Area Chamber Of Commerce ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Clinton Area Chamber Of Commerce, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Clinton Area Chamber Of Commerce

More News

Metro Business Network